Spanish Euro Design

Spanish euro coins feature three different designs for each of the three series of coins. The minor series of 1, 2 and 5 cent coins were designed by Garcilaso Rollán, the middle series of 10, 20, and 50 cent coins by Begoña Castellanos and the two major coins feature the portrait or effigy of King Juan Carlos I of Spain designed by Luis José Díaz. All designs feature the 12 stars of the EU, the year of minting, and the word España (Spanish for Spain).

Spanish euro coinage - Obverse side
€ 0.01 € 0.02 € 0.05
Eurocoin.es.001.gif Eurocoin.es.002.gif Eurocoin.es.005.gif
The Obradoiro façade of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela
€ 0.10 € 0.20 € 0.50
Eurocoin.es.010.gif Eurocoin.es.020.gif Eurocoin.es.050.gif
Miguel de Cervantes, Spanish writer
€ 1.00 € 2.00 € 2 Coin Edge
Eurocoin.es.100.gif 2 Euro coin Es.gif for a total of 12 stars
Effigy of King Juan Carlos I