Luxembourg Euro Design


Luxembourgian euro coins feature three different designs, though they all contain the portrait or effigy of Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg. The designs, by Yvette Gastauer-Claire, also contain the 12 stars of the EU flag, the year of imprint and the name of the country in the Luxembourgish language: Lëtzebuerg. Luxembourg does not mint its own coins. Koninklijke Nederlandse Munt (Royal Dutch Mint), in Utrecht, Netherlands produced Luxembourgian coins dated 2002–2004. Rahapaja Oy (Mint of Finland), in Helsinki, Finland produced the coins dated 2005–2006. Monnaie de Paris (Mint of Paris), in Pessac, France produced coins dated 2007 onward.
The Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg appears on the coins facing to the left. He was not featured on the Luxembourgian franc as he only became Grand Duke in 2000 following the abdication of his father, Jean. Jean's portrait on the francs showed him facing to the right and it is common in a number of countries for successive monarchs to alternate the direction they faced on coins. Other euro coins issued by member states which are monarchies show their monarchs facing to the left, in common with the effigy on their legacy currencies.

Luxembourg euro coinage - Obverse side
€ 0.01 € 0.02 € 0.05
luxembourg euro coins 1 cent luxembourg euro coins 2 cent luxembourg euro coins 5 cent
Effigy of Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg
€ 0.10 € 0.20 € 0.50
luxembourg euro coins 10 cent luxembourg euro coins 20 cent luxembourg euro coins 50 cent
Effigy of Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg
€ 1.00 € 2.00 € 2 Coin Edge
luxembourg euro coins 1 euro luxembourg euro coins 2 euro for a total of 12 stars
Effigy of Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg